Thursday, July 19, 2007

Daevid Allen & Euterpe (Obscura No.1 Studio Rehearsal Tapes (1977)

Daevid Allen & Euterpe (Obscura No.1 Studio Rehearsal Tapes (1977)

Quite wonderful, especially with the continued non appearance of Daevid's 'Good Morning' on CD again. For anyone who's favourite Daevid musical era is the late Deya period this is an indespensible release. The cover says that it's a rehearsal for 1977 Gong reunion gig at Hippodrome in Paris and was recorded at Bananamoon Observatory studio in Deya, Majorca.
It sounds as if the majority of this tape was previously released as the GAS tape 'Deya Daze', although the sound quality is much, much better and therefore must have come from a master tape. Some of the tracks are longer, notably 'Magick Brother' where only the first couple of minutes were used on the 'Deya Daze' tape.
These CDs are in matt black card covers with silver and white printing drawn and designed by Daevid. This is the first of a planned 20CD series! Each release will a limited pressing of 1000 copies only - no more will be pressed.


· Daevid Allen: Vocals & glissando guitar
· Gilli Smyth: Spacewhisper
· Pepe Milan: Vocals & accoustic guitars
· Juan Biblioni: Vocals & accoustic guitars
· Cloudhairy Pepe Riba: Violin, souzaphone & contrabass

Track Listing:

1. Mystic Sister 03.03 (G. Smyth)
2. Magick Brother 07.22 (D. Allen)
3. Sittin in a Teashop 04.29 (D. Allen)
4. Have You See My Friend 04.09 (D.Allen)
5. I Am The Rapist 02.25 (G. Smyth)
6. Brothasista Invocation 02.30 (G. Smyth)
7. A Wee Bit More 06.00 (Milan/Biblioni/Allen)
8. Prostitute Poem 04.19 (G. Smyth)
9. Five and Twenty Schoolgirls 03.58 (D. Allen)
10. Time of the Bananamoon 04.38 (D. Allen)
11. Deya Goddess 08.26 (D. Allen)

Daevid Allen & Euterpe (Obscura No.1 Studio Rehearsal Tapes (1977)


darksun said...

those were the days .. thanks

Anonymous said...

Hi, thank you so much for this one!
Gong is one of my all time favorites but I didn't even know the very existence of this rehearsal tape. Your blog rules!
Thank you again and have a good day.

Anonymous said...

Thanks a lot for this, I wasn't aware of its existence either.
I have to agree with you that the "continued non appearance" of Good Morning is a crying shame. It's a beautiful album and any person's Gong/Daevid Allen collection is all the poorer for its absence.

Anonymous said...

I am sure you will be delighted to know the remastered and beautifully packaged reissue of Good Morning is available on 25th September from Esoteric Recordings-A Cherry Red label.

Anonymous said...

any chance of a repost of this please? the link is down...

sonica said...

Daevid Allen also plays on the Kwisp CD a bit.

Get it here:

Anonymous said...

Daevid Allen & Kwisp – Altered States Of Alien KWISP
Label: Bananamoon Obscura
Catalog#: BMOVP013CD
Format: CD, Album, Limited Edition
Country: UK
Released: 2006

1 Zubbux 2:53
2 Theme To Tiki Yak Eye 2:26
3 Red Pap Lotus 2:58
4 Surrealistic At Large Domino 2:54
5 Bodega Lullabye 3:14
6 Zubbo 3:15
7 Tinkerbell's Confusion 6:55
8 Teriyaki Vest Odyssey 6:55
9 Disco Penguin's Nightmare 3:38
10 Dragon Titties 5:25
11 Ether Bunny's Music For The Massless 6:39
12 Altered Scooter (U Of Errors Remix) 9:02

Altered Walter Funk - Electronics, Voice, Electroacoustic Gizmoids, Transformations

Daevid Allen (tracks: 1, 2, 5 to 7, 9, 12) - Glissando Guitar, Experimental Guitar, Loops, Drones

Reid Johnston (tracks: 8, 10) - Organ, Ghost Drum, Hardware

Cork Marcheschi (track: 8) - "The Stuff"